2013 RSA Student Design
Award Winners

The RSA Student Design Awards is an annual scheme now in its 89th year, which issues briefs to young designers to demonstrate how design can solve 21st century problems. The eight briefs this year covered social challenges ranging from tackling water pollution and waste reduction to improving working environments and commuting.


The winning entries received a year’s RSA Fellowship, which provides the students with access to the RSA’s Catalyst Fund and Skills Bank to further develop their projects. Worth over £30,000 in prize monies, that comprise cash awards and work placements, the RSA Student Design Awards provide financial and practical assistance to student designers starting out in their careers.

Continue reading

Design Of The Year 2013

The website GOV.UK has won the Design Museum Design of the Year Award 2013. This revolutionary website designed by the Government Digital Service (GDS) combines all of the UK government’s websites into a single domain.


The jury unanimously agreed that GOV.UK was the overall winner, for its well thought out yet understated design, making the user experience faster and easier. The website is regarded as one of the leading government websites in the world.

Deyan Sudjic, Director of Design Museum adds, GOV.UK is a remarkable success on so many levels. It makes life better for millions of people coping with the everyday chores, from getting a new passport, to paying their taxes. It’s a reflection of the government understanding how to communicate with the country in a way that works. The rest of the world is deeply impressed, and because it has rationalised multiple official websites, it saves the taxpayer millions, what’s not to like?’

Category Winners for
Designs of the Year 2013

The Design Museum has announced the seven category winners for the annual Designs of the Year Awards. The awards celebrate the best of international design from the last 12 months. The overall winner for the Design of The Year 2013 will be announced on Wednesday 16 April at an awards evening held at The Angler, South Place Hotel, London.

The Seven Category winners are:

Architecture: TOUR BOIS-LE-PRÊTRE, PARIS Frédéric Druot, Anne Lacaton and Jean-Philippe Vassal


Continue reading

“Hands Off My Bike!” Design Challenge – £50,000 Prize

Nesta, the UK’s innovation foundation, is currently running the Hands Off My Bike! challenge prize, which calls on people from all over the UK to come up with breakthrough innovations to make it more difficult to steal bikes and have the potential to increase numbers of people cycling in the UK.

The winning innovation will be the one that requires the longest time to steal the bike. The innovation will also be judged on the impact on the environment, cost and potential for commercialisation and/or implementation at scale.

There’s a £50,000 prize for the winning entry and it’s open to any individual or organisation. Closing date for entries: 18th January 2013.

Join the challenge and get further details here.

SafetyNet Design Wins 2012 International James Dyson Award

Royal College graduate Dan Watson has won the annual International James Dyson Award 2012, with his SafetyNet design, a sustainable solution for trawler fishing.

The goal of SafetyNet is to significantly decrease the number of juvenile fish caught during trawling. The holes in regular nets close up when under tension and many small fish are unable to escape, or are injured while trying to do so.

Continue reading

The RSA Student Design Awards 2013: Call For Entries

We recently attended the launch of the annual RSA Student Design Awards Competition, which was held at the RSA headquarters in London and was presented by Sevra Davis. In all, there are eight projects this year. The sponsors gave an overview and short presentation of the briefs, each of which address important social, environmental and economic issues.

About the RSA Student Design Awards

Through the Student Design Awards the RSA have been rewarding craft, ingenuity, insight, communication and social benefit for 88 years. The RSA issues briefs to young designers to demonstrate how the insights and processes of design can solve 21st century problems. They work with leading design educators to develop the skill and confidence of young professionals, while demonstrating to others the power of a design-led approach.

Work is judged on six criteria:

  1. Social and/or Environmental Benefit
  2. Research
  3. Design Thinking
  4. Commercial Awareness
  5. Execution
  6. “Magic” 

See further details of the judging criteria beneath the briefs – which follow here:

Continue reading